Linggo ng Wika

Yes, I do blog in English but I’m a true blood Filipino…but I’m not Tagalog, I speak Cebuano, another dialect widely spoken in the Philippines. I just remembered about this because just yesterday, my sister “borrowed” my Filipiniana attire because it was required by the school. My sister’s a teacher on Marketing in La Salle University-Ozamiz.

I’m a little confused now…is it Linggo ng Wika (Week) or Buwan ng Lahi (Month)? Anyways, for this month we are highlighting our national language which is Filipino. I have to clarify that there is a difference between Tagalog and Filipino. In Filipino, most words are tagalog but words from other dialect were also adapted (from Cebuano) and even from our second major language which is English.

Anyways, I just wanted to share a tip with you guys if you want to jazz up your formal Filipiniana.

I wore this short dress for our training graduation from my previous company. Ain’t it cute? You can’t buy this anywhere though…as far as I know. But here’s how you can glam up either your existing or new dress for it to be a Filipiniana! 🙂

I actually bought the un-glammed dress in Forever21. Yes, I did bring a camera and snuck a photo of myself wearing it. Don’t judge me.

You can use the existing dress you have in your closet but since this was a special event (graduation in a corporate event), I wanted to buy a new one.

I just brought the dress to the seamstress and asked her to make the big sleeves that she can attach to the dress. You can also make your own…the problem is I don’t know how to sew dresses so I can’t teach you. I’ve also heard from my friends that you can buy those sleeves in the mall. I needed it to be sewn because the dress had lace detailing and I’m sure that I couldn’t find that kind of sleeve for my dress.

So here’s another photo of the final product!

I had another friend who chose to spend nothing on her graduation dress. She borrowed her top from her roommate. I forgot what it’s called but it’s also a Filipino styled top. She paired it with a dress underneath and here she goes!

She looks amazing and cute, right? 😀

My other friends chose to buy the traditional Filipiniana…if you go traditional, you can’t go wrong! 🙂

Toodles and until the next post! 🙂

One thought on “Linggo ng Wika

Leave a Reply

